Simple Radiator Cover, Part I

Very simply put: I heart radiator covers.

So as we starting to strip the floors, we opted to not stress about removing the radiators to remove the old varnish underneath the extremely heavy radiators. Fast forward 11 months and a lot of research, I decided to go with a simplified version of a ‘traditional’ wood radiator cover, ‘Simple’ being the emphasized word. This will be the first true carpentry project I’ve done in over 15 years (eek!).

After searching the web for any plans, I came up with only a video from This Old House, for a cover made of MDF. Determined to plow forward I decided to beg, borrow, and steal what I could from other projects online (mainly from Ana White’s blog).

Steps, Part I:

  • √ Step one, after measuring about 5 times and re-thinking my plan 10, I set out to purchase the wood.
    • The cost came to about $98 for oak. (I was able to save a little by buying oak stair spindles for the legs at a rebuilding exchange warehouse.)
    • I also splurged for a jig saw to make the cuts for the apron (not included in cost above).
  • √ Step two, make all my cuts.
    • I decided to put the top on hold until the frame is assembled in case I needed to rethink any pieces.)
    • After contemplating the apron, I put this on hold as well.
  • √ Step three, assemble the frame panels. (aka. Pocket mania.)
    • I decided to assemble the frame with pocket screws, which was working well until two screws heads broke off in the leg – ugh! I knew I should have drilled pilot holes! (rookie mistake I am sure.)
    • Step three A, fix broken pocket screws – purchase more pocket screws
      • Sadly, I had to put the project aside at this point. Part II will start here.

But as the wood glue dries, I’ve been dreaming of my beautiful radiator cover.

Rookie Lesson’s Learned:

  1. Trim all ends of your boards to ensure the cuts are straight. I did not do this and discovered the hard way when trying to assemble the frame panels
  2. For hard wood (i.e., oak) drill pilot holes regardless of what the demo’s say and use the coarse wood screws.
  3. Clamps and wood glue are your friends. Embrace them and love them dearly.
One thought on “Simple Radiator Cover, Part I

  1. Pingback: A minor update (that is very late.) | SNODGANISTAN

Leave a Reply

